Land Grant Colleges of Agriculture

The Morrill Act of 1862 (7 U.S.C. 301 et seq.) granted federal land to states to sell, and instructed each state to use the proceeds to endow a college to teach agriculture and the mechanical arts. States not having any federal land within their borders were given land in scrip, permitting them to sell federal land located in other (usually western) states for revenue to establish an agricultural college. The original schools are called the 1862 Institutions. Subsequently, the Morrill Act of 1890 (7 U.S.C. 321 et seq.) created the black colleges of agriculture, called the 1890 Institutions. The Equity in Educational Land-Grant Status Act of 1994 (P.L. 103-382, Sec. 531-535) gave land grant status to more than 25 Native American colleges, called the 1994 Institutions.

Not what you're looking for?

Check out other glossary terms or Send us a Message and we're happy to answer your questions!