Conservation district

A conservation district is a policy-making body that is chartered by the General Assembly of Colorado for the purpose of protecting and developing the water resources of a portion of the state. Many conservancy districts can be located within the boundaries of a conservation district. There are four water conservation districts in Colorado: The Colorado River Water Conservation District (CRWCD) covers northwest and west central Colorado, The Southwestern Water Conservation District (SWCD) covers the southwest corner of the state, the Rio Grande Water Conservation District (RGWCD) covers the San Luis Valley and the recently (2004) formed Republican River Water Conservation District that represents the Republican River Basin in eastern Colorado.

Not what you're looking for?

Check out other glossary terms or Send us a Message and we're happy to answer your questions!