Colorado River Water Conservation District (CRWCD)

The Colorado River Water Conservation District (CRWCD), also known as the River District, is a governmental entity formed in 1937. It evolved from the Western Colorado Protective Association, which was a group dedicated to protecting the Colorado River from threats of out-of-basin diversions. The present day River District’s mission is to protect and conserve the waters of the Colorado River within Colorado for beneficial use. It is a policy-making entity that can hold water rights, fund water projects, litigate, lobby for legislation and mediate disputes affecting the district. The River District represents all or part of 15 West Slope counties, including: Grand, Summit, Eagle, Pitkin, Routt, Garfield, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Gunnison, Mesa, Delta, Montrose, Ouray, Hinsdale and Saguache counties. Each county has one representative seated on the River District’s Board of Directors appointed by the county’s Board of Commissioners for three-year terms. The River District is principally funded by a tax assessment based on value of a land owner’s property mill levy.

Not what you're looking for?

Check out other glossary terms or Send us a Message and we're happy to answer your questions!