Colorado River Compact

Water allocation problems along the full length of the Colorado River prompted the 1922 Colorado River Compact between Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, New Mexico, Nevada, Arizona and California. The Colorado River was split into Upper Basin and Lower Basin segments, with Lee’s Ferry in Arizona serving as the dividing point and it was agreed to apportion the waters of the Colorado River to these two basins. Each basin would than allocate water among its states. In 1948,the Upper Basin states of Colorado, Wyoming, Utah and New Mexico agreed on apportioning the Upper Basin’s share.

Not what you're looking for?

Check out other glossary terms or Send us a Message and we're happy to answer your questions!